Deutsch | English

The Work Coach – Heinz Meisnitzer


Byron Katie

Awakening to Reality

Byron Katie (Byron Kathleen Mitchel) was born in Texas in 1942 and later lived in the small desert town of Barstow in California. Initially her life used to run quite normally. She married, had three children and was a successful businesswoman, however when she got to thirty she suffered from serious depression. Without visible reason she suddenly began to “die” inside. This downwards spiral of self disgust and constant thoughts about suicide lasted for ten years, wherein the last two years she hardly left her bed.

Then, in 1986, she experienced an awakening that changed her life radically. Katie refers to this experience in retrospect as “Awakening to Reality”:

I discovered that when I believed my thoughts, I suffered, but that when I didn’t believe them, I didn’t suffer, and that this is true for every human being. Freedom is as simple as that. I found that suffering is optional. I found a joy within me that has never disappeared, not for a single moment. That joy is in everyone, always.”

Byron Katie realised that her beliefs about the world were the reason for her depression and not the world itself. The attempt to change the world in such a way, how she wished for the world to be in her thoughts, was hopeless. But she could change her beliefs about the world in that she questioned her thoughts.

The Work is a process of questioning yourself that “awakened” on that February morning in Katie and has since been alive in her. Even the first people that Katie brought The Work to experienced a transformation in their lives. In the meantime Katie has travelled for more than twenty years around the globe and gives The Work to all those people who want to be free of their suffering. Therein it does not matter if it is “a small everyday problem concerning children, parents, job or relationships, or about extreme experiences such as torture, abuse and war.

Portrait of Byron KatieByron Katie, © Rick Rusing

Byron Katie lives in Ojai, California and is married to author Steven Mitchell. You will find out more about Byron Katie under www.thework.com.

Every time I meet Katie is refreshing for me. She is one of those very rare human beings that live what they say. Her clarity, prescence, and loving attention towards people who open themselves in her workshops, is for me authentic and touching. Some people are afraid to have no more motivation without their negative thoughts; they are afraid to sit at home inactive if they don’t push themselves forcefully. Byron Katie is for me a living example that the opposite being true, she shows what love in action looks like.”

— Heinz Meisnitzer

Deutsch | English

The Work Coach – Heinz Meisnitzer


Byron Katie

Erwachen zur Wirklichkeit

Byron Katie (Byron Kathleen Mitchell) wurde 1942 in Texas geboren und lebte später in der kleinen Wüstenstadt Barstow in Kalifornien. Zunächst schien ihr Leben ganz normal zu verlaufen. Sie heiratete, bekam drei Kinder und war eine erfolgreiche Geschäftsfrau. Dennoch litt sie mit Anfang 30 an schweren Depressionen. Ohne erkennbaren Grund begann sie plötzlich, innerlich zu „sterben“. Die Abwärtsspirale von Zorn, Ekel vor sich selbst und ständigen Selbstmordgedanken hielt zehn Jahre an, wobei sie die letzten zwei Jahre ihr Bett kaum mehr verlassen konnte.

Dann, im Februar 1986, erlebte sie ein Erwachen, das ihr Leben von Grund auf veränderte. Katie bezeichnet dieses Erlebnis im Nachhinein als „Erwachen zur Wirklichkeit“:

Ich entdeckte, dass ich litt, wenn ich meinen Gedanken glaubte, aber dass ich nicht litt, wenn ich ihnen nicht glaubte und dass dies für jedes menschliche Wesen wahr ist. So einfach ist Freiheit. Ich habe entdeckt, dass Leiden freiwillig ist. Ich habe eine Freude in mir gefunden, die nie mehr verschwunden ist, nicht für einen einzigen Moment. Diese Freude ist in uns allen, immer.“

Byron Katie erkannte, dass ihre Überzeugungen über die Welt die Ursache für ihre Depressionen waren und nicht die Welt selbst. Der Versuch, die Welt so zu verändern, wie sie es sich in ihren Gedanken wünschte, war hoffnungslos. Aber sie konnte ihre Überzeugungen über die Welt verändern, indem sie ihre Gedanken hinterfragte.

The Work™ ist ein Selbstbefragungsprozess, der an jenem Februarmorgen mit Katie „erwachte“ und seitdem in ihr lebendig ist. Bereits die ersten Menschen, denen Katie The Work näherbrachte, erlebten eine Transformation ihres Lebens. Mittlerweile reist Katie seit mehr als 20 Jahren um die Welt und gibt The Work an all jene Menschen weiter, die sich von ihrem Leid befreien wollen. Dabei spielt es keine Rolle, ob es um das „kleine Alltagsleid“ mit Kindern, Eltern, Job und Beziehungen geht oder um extreme Erfahrungen wie Folter, Missbrauch und Krieg.

Porträtbild von Byron KatieByron Katie, © Rick Rusing

Byron Katie lebt in Ojai in Kalifornien und ist mit dem Autor Stephen Mitchell verheiratet. Mehr über Byron Katie erfährst Du unter www.thework.com/deutsch.

Katie zu begegnen, ist für mich jedes Mal erfrischend. Sie ist für mich einer jener seltenen Menschen, die das, was sie sagen, auch leben. Ihre Klarheit, Präsenz und liebevolle Aufmerksamkeit den Menschen gegenüber, die sich in ihren Workshops öffnen, ist für mich authentisch und berührend. Manche Menschen befürchten, ohne ihre negativen Gedanken keine Motivation mehr zu haben. Sie befürchten, tatenlos zu Hause zu sitzen, wenn sie sich nicht mehr durch Gewalt antreiben. Byron Katie ist für mich das lebendige Beispiel dafür, dass das Gegenteil wahr ist. Sie zeigt, wie Liebe in Aktion aussieht.“

— Heinz Meisnitzer